I am a woman but I am not weak

Women are put down solely for their gender; especially in high school when sports, popularity, and grades come into play. I know how hard this can be on a growing teenage girl…trust me, I’ve experienced it. This week I talked to Talia and Lauren, two girls who have also experienced it, on the false stereotypes placed on women.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I asked what they thought the stereotypes were that accompany being a woman. “I think a lot of the stereotypes placed on women are that we are weak or not able to live up to the standards that society holds men at” says Talia. “Yeah, people believe that we can’t do what men can do but that’s not true. By saying woman are weaker you are categorizing almost half of the population, it doesn’t make sense. Also these stereotypes aren’t even applicable.”

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Lauren
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Talia

I then asked why they think these stereotypes are present in society. “I think a lot of it has to do with the patriarchy” says Talia. “Yeah, f*** the patriarchy” says Lauren. Talia laughs adding, “I also think it has to do with the standards that men are held to. Men are supposed to be violent and strong, not vulnerable. So people expect woman to be vulnerable and dependent on men.” “Anything else?” I ask. “Yeah, why is being a women associated with so many negative terms?” asks Lauren, she continues “being too ‘girly’ is a problem…that doesn’t even make any sense. ” “Yeah, or like being a bitch. What does that even mean. What do either of them mean?” Talia said while agreeing with Lauren. “Another thing is ‘man-up’ , what does that one mean? My english teacher said it a few days ago and thankfully she realized what she said and apologized to our class but too many people say it all the time and think nothing of it. Or know what they mean by it but don’t care.” stated Lauren.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

To wrap it up they both said “Women are always kind of used as a synonym for weak but we are not. We are strong and we are powerful. We can do anything that a man can do.” So, I am a woman but I am not weak.

Leave a comment